Kayak School  
 
   
REVIEWS


reviews
Facebook




COURSES
         
ADD REVIEW | ADMIN
Sunday, 16. December 2018 15:27

After joining a course you can leave feedback or review here.
Total Records: 70   Records Viewed Per Page: 40     Next Page
Name Comments / Review
used car loan rates 
Course:
USA
Sunday, 16. December 2018 09:27 

[url=http://autoloan72months.com/]bad credit car loan[/url]
auto lenders 
Course:
USA
Saturday, 15. December 2018 10:00 

[url=https://autoloan72months.com/]auto loan 72 months[/url]
Chris & Timmy 
Course:
White Water Skills Trip
Thursday, 13. December 2018 22:41 

Hi Dan

Thanks again for a really enjoyable couple of days. Timmy loved it and achieved exactly what we wanted which was increased confidence and capability on grade 2.

I also had a great time, and really wanted to recognise that while Timmy was the focus I definitely took away things from the course. Thanks again, look forward to seeing you again at some point and have a great Christmas!

Chris and Timmy
Gary H 
Course:
10-day lesson pack
Sunday, 9. December 2018 11:23 

Having been for a couple of introductory weekends with River Strokes I signed up for 10-lesson whitewater paddler pack in 2018. Dan has continually provided support, motivation, patience and technical advice to build my skill and confidence at the right pace; from learning a range of strokes, capsize and safety drills at Glasbury, to the exhilaration of putting it all into practice running rapids with a team on the beautiful Usk in autumn colours! Unforgettable! Have always had a great time, loved being amongst nature and met some lovely people with River Strokes.. keep up the good work Dan! See you in February for whitewater Part Deux
Sam Wright 
Course:
-
Thursday, 15. November 2018 21:01 

Just came back from a weekend of whitewater grade 2 instruction with Dan. After having already done a few courses with him, I knew what I was letting myself in for, and couldn’t wait! He is passionate about kayaking, loves helping people improve but not only that, also wants them to know what they want to improve and how to do it, What they do wrong when things don’t go as planned and what they do well, this makes you think about your own paddling in a self critical way, which is something we all need to do to improve. He does this in such a positive way and will always help you in any way he can. He breaks it down in to small chunks and is just a pleasure to be around, his knowledge of the river, the strokes, safety and instruction are inspirational and this fuels my desire to be the best paddler I can, I think it may take some time to have half Dans ability, but I enjoy every minute spent on a river strokes course and never stop learning and smiling with Dans unique style. Wait til you learn all about the ‘puppy’ stroke!! To be a balanced review I think I should point out one negative, his singing is terrible!!! If your thinking of booking with Dan then just do it, you won’t regret it, you will love every minute.
Safi Ferrah 
Course:
Various Grade 2
Wednesday, 7. November 2018 16:10 

Thanks for another great week Dan.
I never thought I'd see someone get taught how to roll in one session and then successfully do it time and again on the Wye - Brilliant !
Captain Rainbow 
Course:
Multiple weekends
Monday, 15. October 2018 11:23 

I'm part of a TEAM of four guys that have now trained with Dan on multiple occasions throughout 2018. It's difficult to put whitewater kayaking into words but if I had to choose a few I guess they would be - awesome, difficult, fun, frustrating, team building, emotional rollercoaster, life-changing, I hate it, I love it...conflicting words for a truly unique sport taught by a truly unique instructor. Dan's mix of humour, fun and serious world-class tuition is spot on. If you're reading this review not knowing which company to choose like I was at one point then just stop looking - you'll not find a better company - and that's a fact.
Ray 
Course:
Long term development course
Saturday, 8. September 2018 09:50 

Did a long term development course with Dan after losing confidence and it is the best choice I have made in a long time
With Dans patience, support and expert instruction my skills and confidence quickly grew and I began to love the sport
I have now spent most of summer kayaking on the Dee or Treweryn in north wales with new friends I have met through being out on the water and looking forward to progressing with the sport
Without Dans expert tuition, support and his obvious desire to help people reach their own goals I would probably have given up.
All of this is achieved with a good sense of humour as well
Anne Dugdale 
Course:
Beginners kayaking course
Saturday, 8. September 2018 08:40 

What a privilege to have been able to spend 5 magical days on the River Wye in Dan's company. With Red Kites swooping above us, muscovy ducks watching on with professional disdain and fish leaping from the depths, Dan patiently shared his kayaking knowledge, and with great insight and empathy coached me through a range of paddle strokes.

Thanks Dan, it was beautiful.

I've no hesitation in recommending River Strokes' beginners kayaking course. Go on press the button; book it.

Anne
(September 2018)
Ali mac 
Course:
-
Friday, 3. August 2018 21:35 

Joined the course for a day on my own very nervous and no previous experience, Dan made me feel extremely welcome with in the group and I gained so much, pushed my self out of my comfort zone and learnt some new skills. The day was amazing, Dan is a top intructor with a passion for it which really shines through, and if you are thinking should I book it don’t think and just do it, you won’t be disappointed. Thanks again Dan
David 
Course:
River Skills
Tuesday, 17. July 2018 10:55 

Dan is an excellent teacher, and has not only the patience, but the knowledge to be able to bring your ability on in stages, continually adding something to your technique so your skills come on leaps and bounds.
His classes are full of insights and knowledge that you can take away and work on, all in the most stunning environment.
Thank you Dan, be back soon.
Andy and Alex 
Course:
River Skills
Wednesday, 11. July 2018 18:22 

Just wanted to say Thank You from me and Alex for the River Skills course yesterday. We both really enjoyed it: rather than falling asleep on the way home Alex was absolutely buzzing and we talked about River Strokes most of the way back. I promise I will practice loving my turns and making the most of my time on the water – still or moving!
I hope we can come back for more “fun” when the water is a bit higher!
Thanks again,
Andy and Alex
Victoria Goodman 
Course:
10 pack of lessons
Tuesday, 15. May 2018 13:01 

After taking the introductory course I was absolutely hooked. Dan is a wonderful teacher; patient, knowledgeable, and clearly passionate about Kayaking. Combine that with his fantastic teaching style and you've got an amazing experience.
Whether you're new to the sport or think you know everything there is to know, I guarantee that Dan has got a course for you!
David Alderson 
Course:
10 Pack lessons
Monday, 30. April 2018 08:24 

For the first time kayaker, to the beginner, improved or the WW guru, then Dan at riverstrokes offers it all. Extremely knowledgeable actually does it first and let’s the student practice and even in groups has the time to give one to one advice and his eyes are on you and the group at all times... quiet wise words to improve your sloppy drills you thought he had not noticed. So whatever you do, if your into giving kayaking a go or have 30 yrs then Dan has advice, care, professionalism and a skill for you to learn
Pete 
Course:
Whitewater Grade Two Skills
Monday, 26. February 2018 21:16 

I chose this course in order to further my skills on moving water and increase my confidence. I wanted an enjoyable week on a beautiful river whilst improving my technique. Dan provided all of this: I had a great week on the River Wye and received excellent coaching. His teaching style was friendly and informal whilst giving me real insight into what I needed to do to improve and how to do it.

After this week I have definitely gained the confidence to explore and enjoy whitewater rivers further.
Gordon 
Course:
white water grade 2
Saturday, 24. February 2018 08:22 

I have been kayaking for a couple of years and wanted to try some white water, so I went on a couple of Dan's brace and support courses which are very informative. Then went on a white water weekend course which I was a bit apprehensive about but with Dan's excellent instruction and support got down them in one piece, really enjoyable.
Chris 
Course:
Riverskills
Sunday, 10. December 2017 20:14 

I booked a 3 day course with River Strokes intending to improve my overall kayak skills and get a taste of more challenging grade 2 rapids. I got exactly that and a lot more!

Dan is an excellent instructor with some serious river experience. But more importantly he knows how to share this knowledge with his students in a way that helps them really understand and appreciate what do to, how to do it and why it's important for them and their kayaking.

I will definitely kayak with River Strokes again!
Safi Ferrah 
Course:
White water Grade 2
Thursday, 16. November 2017 19:12 

I would just like to say that last sunday 12th November paddling the River Usk near Brecon with Dan, was the best day I've had kayaking in over 3 years. It was fun all the way, but the instruction/teaching was also great. It's a rare pleasure to find an instructor who can teach to such a high professional standard whilst making the whole experience really enjoyable.
Matt Cownie 
Course:
River Skills
Tuesday, 31. October 2017 22:36 

Dan is a thoughtful and perceptive coach. He coaxed my partner back onto the water and helped her start to believe that river might be fun after all. I found his teaching style to be calm and interesting. I kind of hate being told what to do, but Dan made it like an explanation of the obvious. we will be back smile emoticon
Katja Wagner 
Course:
Introduction
Saturday, 28. October 2017 18:57 

I got interested in kayaking and was looking for a place to learn for ages till I finally came across river strokes kayaking
After one taster session signed up for 20 lessons with Dan and can say that I truly enjoy it. Dan is a great teacher with a good sense of humour , challenging me to think and very big on safety. I feel brilliant after each session and look forward to the next one. He looks like he was born in his kayak . Can truly recommend his individual motivating teaching. Thank you Dan I very much appreciate the way you get me going!!
Katja
David Duffield 
Course:
River Skills
Tuesday, 10. October 2017 12:33 

Having only very limited experience in Kayaks, I booked a week with Dan on his River Skills course. Dan was excellent, teaching core skill techniques in a calm and relaxed environment. As my confidence and abilities grew we moved onto more advanced techniques in more dynamic water, and although I know I still have a long was to go, I feel I am a far more accomplished paddler now than I was at the beginning of the week. We also started to learn the foundations of rolling, but my favorite part of the week was the 5 mile journey, which encompassed a grade 2 rapid, something I would never have taken on at the beginning of the week.
A fantastic week, full of learning experiences. Thank you Dan.
Heather 
Course:
Intro to River Skills
Thursday, 28. September 2017 09:46 

For basically my first time in a kayak, I couldn't have asked for a better teacher! Dan was very patient, calm, explained everything so that we could understand it and made sure that we got a very worthwhile experience even though the river was very full all week! Never a dull moment. I learned so much in such a short time. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this course to anyone!
Tim 
Course:
River Skills
Monday, 25. September 2017 07:34 

I booked this course with Dan as I am not that confident in moving water, after a weekend under Dan's guidance, I feel much happier! Dan understands your needs and adapts the training to suit the individual, Dan also makes the training fun. I came away with a lot of new skills to practice and can't wait to get back for more training. I learnt more in two days with Dan than I have in the past few years! I will defiantly progress to white water with River Strokes! Thanks Dan!
Nick Webb 
Course:
River Skills (5-days)
Sunday, 24. September 2017 21:48 

My wife and I spent a week with Dan in September on the River Skills course.

Dan is an amazing instructor. Very engaging and incredibly patient. We will definitely be back for more.
Dimitrios Evangelou 
Course:
River Skills
Sunday, 10. September 2017 16:29 

Thought I'd booked a Beginner's course, but turned out I'd booked a River Skills course and so glad I did now.

Dan is a great instructor, explaining everything really simply, or perhaps he thought he needed to do that just for me, either way, throughout the 5 day course I never felt out of my depth, both literally and figuratively, as he took me from not knowing what the hell I was doing, to navigating 'flow' on the river, to rolling upside down and being able to calmly get out - a big deal for me.

Can't recommend River Strokes enough. Have fun. And thanks Dan.
Mo & Liz 
Course:
10 course pack
Thursday, 17. August 2017 20:23 

Before starting our ten session course with Dan we had a few years of kayaking but with no formal tuition. We have now completed our first 10 lessons, we have learnt so much and are now confident in grade 2 whitewater and we have been taught self rescue and on our last lesson to roll. Expert tuition from a knowledgeable and experienced kayaker that have made us confident and safe Kayakers so we can now get so much more of our time on the water. We have both booked for a second 10 session pack to take us expertly to grade 3 whitewater. Cannot recommend River Strokes highly enough.
Anne Garland and Daniel Thorne 
Course:
Beginners' week
Saturday, 22. July 2017 12:21 

We had a wonderful week on the water - Dan Povey is very easy to get on with and a gifted teacher ( that's a comment coming from a teacher!}. He is well able to accommodate different people of different abilities and gave myself, aged 60, and my son aged 19, both a very exciting and fulfilling week. My son was given several extra challenges, many if which I also did but in my own time. Dan never pushed me to do anything I didn't want to but was an excellent judge of both our abilities and setting the right level of task. It was a lot of fun and we both learnt a lot - my son even managed three eskimo rolls in the pool by the end of the week! Thanks very much Dan and we'll see you next year!
Simon Wyndham 
Course:
Introduction to kayaking.
Monday, 12. June 2017 18:28 

7 years ago I was introduced to kayaking by Dan on one of his five day intro courses. From then I went on to learn white water kayaking and my roll with him. The things Dan taught me have stayed with me every since, and it was possibly the best introduction to the fundamentals I could have had.

Dan's relaxed coaching style and attention to detail mean that you will be learning lots of in depth stuff while having fun at the same time. Dan has a lot of patience with beginners, and you will be taught fundamentals that will give you the sort of base that will serve you for years to come.
Gordon Goodsell 
Course:
-
Saturday, 10. June 2017 15:00 

It was a while ago now but the stuff Dan coached into me o a couple of his grade 2 days still stay with me when I'm bashing down the Olympic course at Lee Valley.
Dan's approach to coaching was also in part the inspiration to set out down the coaching pathway.
Thanks Dan
Shane 
Course:
River skills
Saturday, 10. June 2017 08:48 

I'm not normally a review kinda guy, but after spending a lot of time with dan on his training courses i can honestly say that the decision to come to river strokes is definitely one you wont regret.

I travel 4 hours down from york just to get onto one of dans courses thats how good he is. Ive also started making river buddies too and now have the confidence to lead trips of my own.

River strokes is a easy relaxed course which is not regimented in many of the ways others tend to be and with dans great patience and excellent explanations, you see the results of your paddling come on in leaps and bounds.

Thanks RiverStrokes.

S
Ray 
Course:
Introduction to river skills
Monday, 22. May 2017 20:15 

Just finished a two day weekend course and Dan has renewed my confidence and enjoyment and desire to go further with kayaking and I have now booked a long term course with him. His instruction is supportive, knowledgeable and fun. I would recommend him to anyone without hesitation
Huw 
Course:
Multi courses
Friday, 5. May 2017 13:35 

After doing a "taster" day with Dan 7 months ago I signed up for a series of lessons. Within several lessons it feels like you're really making progress and the sense of achievement and increase in confidence is priceless. I'm continuing with Dan but just started doing trips with friends I've made at Dan's courses.
Bottom line; great coaching, great fun, great people, a "must do".
Suse 
Course:
Introduction to river skills
Tuesday, 18. April 2017 10:57 

Putting the joy back into paddling!

Dan taught me a few years ago right at the start of my paddling - the fundamentals, and my roll. I took it from there with flatwater practice and lots of club paddling, leading to lots of fun on grade II and III river trips. But I'd lost the joy a bit after a hairy Alps trip, and came back to Dan, this time with my girlfriend, for an introductory course for my girlfriend and some back to basics for me.

We both loved it. Dan is hands-down the best coach I've encountered: his teaching style makes any stretch of water ripe for learning and honing skills. He is also absolutely excellent at managing the learning needs of a group of different levels. This weekend I made a couple of subtle improvements to my technique that I am looking forward to taking back out with me, and trying on some different and bigger water.

It is good to now be able to say that I am looking forward to getting out paddling again. My girlfriend had a fantastic time too, and as well as enjoying the technical learning and practice, we loved the trip downriver through so much beautiful nature, and nesting river birds. We're both looking forward to more paddling together, and I also suspect we'll be back later in the year for a whitewater skills course.

In short, I would recommend River Strokes to anyone who wants to learn to paddle, wants to hone their technique or who needs to remember why they started to love it in the first place. Thanks again, Dan!
Chrissy and Kev 
Course:
Introduction to White Water
Sunday, 22. January 2017 00:36 

Introduction to White Water – What a great week. It was worth pulling ice out of kayaks, a real adventure. Not sure what to expect but need not have worried because each day Dan helped us to learn new skills, consolidated them and then progress on to the next level. Both of us found the entry out of an eddy in to a fast flow a mental challenge. Dan was patience itself. He broke activities into simple steps, which were repeated time and again enabling us to eventually pull it all together. By the next day not only had we mastered the necessary techniques but were thoroughly enjoying ourselves. Thanks for helping slay those demons Dan. The rapids we great fun and rather exiting in parts! The course built our confidence, correct numerous fudged techniques and helped us feel courageous and able.
Another great course. Well done Dan.
Snowy 
Course:
Intermediate white water 2day
Tuesday, 27. December 2016 19:48 

Great weekend with some lovely rivers, would definatley do it again and I feel I walked away a better paddler. Cheers Dan sorry you didn't like the Bovril !
Richard Caine 
Course:
Introduction to moving water
Wednesday, 14. December 2016 20:44 

Well where do I start?
The paddling bug got hold of me 6 months ago, I've mainly paddled flat water and have done a six week beginners course at Lee Valley.
I was apprehensive as this would be my first experience on an actual river with moving water. No need to be nervous. Dan's skill (as well as being an extremely knowledgeable whitewater kayaker) is his ability to connect with every individual from the start. He's a cool, calm, professional who's personal approach gets the best out of you. There's no pressure and Dan makes awareness a priority, every manoeuvre is planned and I felt extremely safe. I've come away with nuggets of information which will improve my paddling no end. Deep and vertical baby!
Nathan R 
Course:
Introduction to Moving Water
Wednesday, 14. December 2016 13:28 

Came up to South Wales from Lent with some friends. Had an absolutely fantastic time with Dan who was a great instructor.
Paul 
Course:
Introduction to white water
Wednesday, 14. December 2016 08:40 

I travelled over from Kent with a few others expecting a good but cold weekend. This was not at all what we got. Instead we got an amazing weekend and with Dans way of teaching we were always thinking and learning so you forgot it was even cold. From the moment we arrived Dan made us all feel welcome and the learning started straight away. I can honestly say that I have came away a better paddler and all I can think about is getting back on the water. Thank you Dan for a wicked weekend and Im looking forward to coming over again for some more paddling.
Ben Day 
Course:
Introduction to moving water
Tuesday, 13. December 2016 22:24 

Riverstrokes has made my paddling year. Dans coaching gave me the fundamentals of paddling a year ago before I'd even seen moving water and since then I've come along leaps and bounds. His teaching methods are by far the best I've had and I would advise anyone who wishes to paddle moving water to use the years of experience he has. Over the past year I've paddled the Usk 2/3, The Dee 2, Dart Loop 2/3, the lower Tryweryn 2/3 and the upper Tryweryn 3/4 all the way through Dans methods have stayed with me and coming into play when I needed them most.

Thanks Dan for your patience and expertise

Ben Day
Kayak Nation
Carlos 
Course:
2 day
Wednesday, 2. November 2016 20:18 

Wow, what a blast.
I had a great time, Dan is an awesome guy and gets the best out of your expertise. Very skilled, it gives you the confidence as you progress, giving also you the fun factor.
I can wait to go back and do it all over again, if that answers your dubious decision believe me, you won't regret.
HTML code is disabled     Next Page
 
About
gift voucher
Gift voucher
buy a kayaking
course gift voucher

advice
Gear & Advice
kayaking tips and equipment advice
videos
Media pages
Kayaking videos and course pictures

content © copyright River Strokes | website design © copyright