Kayak School  
 
   
REVIEWS


reviews
Facebook




COURSES
         
ADD REVIEW | ADMIN
Wednesday, 13. December 2017 14:57

After joining a course you can leave feedback or review here.
Total Records: 54   Records Viewed Per Page: 40   Previous Page
Name Comments / Review
Michelle 
Course:
Grade 2 skills
Monday, 1. February 2016 19:52 

I recently attended this skills weekend on the River Usk, a highly enjoyable 2 days, both days where done on the same stretch , however do to water levels it made both days different, we covered various skills, from surfing to eddie hoping, finessing our skills to get the most from our paddling. Dan made the weekend fun and enjoyable, whilst still learning our skills. Highly recommended and will be using River Strokes again.
Beverley Wood 
Course:
River Skills
Saturday, 30. January 2016 20:09 

I did my first course at River Strokes in October last year and enjoyed it so much I’ve been back three times, plus had a free day’s coaching after I won the caption competition in December.

I’ve previously been told that I’m not the easiest student to teach (for various reasons :) ), however Dan is an intuitive coach; he breaks information into manageable chunks and knows when to offer support and when to delay feedback. Dan takes time to get to know his students and uses this knowledge to individualise his coaching and empathise with his students. You can expect some brutal honesty about your weaknesses , balanced with praise when it is due. Dan is interested in developing rounded river paddlers, not just tick-boxing skills, and he works to foster paddler confidence and independence. The courses take place on beautiful sections of river; there is no pressure, just solid instruction, patience and a cracking sense of humour.

I’ve definitely improved my river skills and I’m feeling much more confident on the water. Dan’s passion for kayaking is infectious and I can honestly say that he is the best kayak coach that I’ve have ever been to. Highly recommended.
Becky levy 
Course:
Intro to white water week
Wednesday, 27. January 2016 18:23 

I did the introduction to white water week back in october with Dan, it was an excellent week, learnt a hell of a lot. Enjoyed it so much ive done 2 more whitewater river skills weekends and am now hooked on whitewater kayaking, dan doesnt just teach techniques but teaches you how to have fun, enjoy it and how to get most out of river trips.
Hoping to join Dan in New Zealand next year too!
Dave Weller 
Course:
Various Course
Friday, 18. December 2015 13:09 

Been paddling for coming up to one year, I can honestly say that my progress from an intro to moving water to running grade 2 3 4 and some grade five water over this last year has come from the basics and foundation that Dan helped put there, I have revisited Dan on different occasions through this year to fine tune and explore removing some of the possible unhelpful habits i may have introduced and to improve my personal paddling style, Great teaching style easy to apply, keeps it simple, this stuff is beyond club coaching, what you really need to know to get stuck in and have fun safely, truly without a good foundation nothing of any stability can be built, get your basics down and the rest can be placed on top, this is the place to start that journey or if you already paddle then come and get the stuff that makes the difference :)top man, see you in 2016
Will russell 
Course:
5 day bunkhouse week
Wednesday, 2. December 2015 00:17 

Went down too dan for the second time now for a full week. The course was awesome. The one thing I love about going to dan for, is the detail to which he goes too when teaching me paddling techniques. Throughout the week I felt my paddling progressively improved, mainly due to dan's methods of repeatantly going over techniques until it was almost second nature. We went on 3 really good fun river trips in the beautiful countryside on the river usk, each trip gradually more technical and also personalised to what I wanted too do/improve on the day. We spent another two days, one on the canal going through fundamental skills and the other in a pool learning the art of rolling. Accommodation was included, which was nice after a day on the river, good pub also. If you want to learn or improve paddling and have good fun at the same time, I would highly recommend river strokes. Had a great time. Cheers Dan.
Aron 
Course:
Intro to river skills
Wednesday, 11. November 2015 12:32 

Absolutely amazing! I have been kayaking now for little over 4 months and I would say without a doubt that I learned more in one session with Dan at River Strokes than I have in all that time being coached in my local pool! Massive game changer for how you feel about moving water and how to use the flow to help you instead of constantly fighting for control. 10/10 I would recommend this course for beginners and I will be going back for a rolling course in the future!
Emily 
Course:
River Skills
Wednesday, 28. October 2015 08:17 

After surviving many river trips I thought I needed to learn some skills. I went to River Strokes to learn fundamental river skills. It transformed my paddling and made me realise I needed to actually do something with my paddle other than, ‘paddling for England’! I use these skills every time I am on the river and will always appreciate the skills learnt. Thank you Dan.
Debbie 
Course:
Whitewater 5 day river skills
Sunday, 25. October 2015 20:07 

After a few nerve racking river trips on our own decided to book in for the introduction to river skills 5 day course. River levels being lowest in October for years and the two of us being totally un- knowledgeable of kayaking skills were going to present Dan with quite a challenge, we spent first day on canal learning good stroke techniques and new strokes. Giving us a good foundation for getting onto the river. Second day we travelled up to the Wye and went through more new stokes and how to use them efficiently and correctly. Ended the week with a trip down the Wye and felt so happy and confident on the water with Dans amazing and endless patience we loved every minute and now feel ready continue where we left off with hours of practice and plenty of rotation!!.
Sally Leese 
Course:
River skills and rolling
Sunday, 11. October 2015 19:04 

Dan got me rolling in a pool and a river which I did not believe possible.
He also took me on as an exceptionally nervous paddler on any river. With his support and coaching I am now loving paddling on white water and use his coaching every time I am out.
Amazing coach :)
David Wootton 
Course:
River skills week
Wednesday, 30. September 2015 22:18 

Had a great time. Have lots of new routines to practice. Top instruction by Dan. Third time i've visited an been instructed by Dan. Would recommend to anyone who wishes to learn and improve.
Cheers Dan.
Sarah Robinson 
Course:
river skills and rolling
Sunday, 27. September 2015 19:47 

Have been on few river skills days with Dan and each time I have learnt something new. I have recently had a minor accident whilst kayaking (not whilst with River strokes I would add) and had a major loss of confidence in paddeling and rolling. Today with Dan's help I have got myself back on track and can't wait to get out on the river with him again. He is brutally honest about my skills and lack of skills (sarah your stern rudder was pants..Dan 2015) ... so if your looking for an ego boost on your abilities best go elsewhere!!! I am a beginner and still nervous on flowing rivers but Dan gives you the skills and confidence to man up and get on with it...cannot recommend River Strokes enough and if your just getting into kayaking go learn how to do it properly from the start with Dan!! Oh and rolling ....am getting there !!
Dave Alder 
Course:
Package
Sunday, 27. September 2015 16:49 

It was by accident that I found riverstrokes for a group of four of us to do a couple of days of adventure on the river wye. Off the back of the trip, I have signed up for 10 lessons, and how lucky the chance find has been. Dan has the patience of a saint, has a great sense of humour, and is the utmost professional tutor, his laid back approach, belies his confidence and care of the students in his charge, his turn of speed to assist some one in problems is amazing. If your thinking of a kayak course, either as a first timer as I was, or as a professional coach yourself, you will likely not find a more knowledgable, down to earth at professional trainer in the UK. With thousands of days under his belt, and a boat full of fag butts to prove it.
Cliff Melhuish 
Course:
River Intro
Saturday, 26. September 2015 17:01 

This review of River Strokes is to highlight something that may happen to many paddlers over time.
"Complete loss of Confidence" Or so I thought.
After reaching the dizzy heights of achieving UKCC Level 2 coach, two courses of 4* training and feeling comfortable (ish) on Grade 3 rapids, I had a 14 month break from boating and had given up any notion of taking it up again. (mid life crisis?). Anyway, I missed the fun and fitness aspects of boating that much, I'm back for more.
However my confidence was so low I felt
like a beginner. Bring on the talents of Dan Povey! after 1 day, I'm running grade 2 and rolling in the flow, reverse ferrying, eddying in/out backwards!!
What can I say 'If you are ever in trouble, give River Strokes a call'.

I've already booked my next course.

You're a STAR, Dan......

Thankyou so much
Deborah Lowe 
Course:
White Water grade 2
Monday, 21. September 2015 17:02 

Great day with Dan, met up with three other paddlers at River cafe and enjoyed a chat about previous paddling experience and expectations for the trip over a lovely coffee. Once the shuttle was over we entered the river at Aber Bran Fawr just above the broken weir, and Dan warmed us up with plenty of ferry gliding and entering the flo. We set off one at a time feeling very safe with Dan as our leader. We were guided down the river following at a safe distance learning about eddies and using the flo. Dan's method of training is safe and calm and positive which helps when you feel nervous about a new situation not met with before. After our return shuttle we had a de-brief in the cafe with a beautiful hot chocolate. A fabulous day on the river, I for one will definitely be back soon. Thanks Dan
HTML code is disabled   Previous Page
 
About
gift voucher
Gift voucher
buy a kayaking
course gift voucher

advice
Gear & Advice
kayaking tips and equipment advice
videos
Media pages
Kayaking videos and course pictures

content © copyright River Strokes | website design © copyright